EMS Technical Operations Committee

The MESB’s EMS Technical Operations Committee (TOC) is a committee of the Metro Region EMS System and consists of representatives of community health, physicians, EMS communications, and ambulance service providers. The individuals serving on the EMS TOC represent the ten metropolitan counties in addition to a mix of public and non-governmental EMS agencies. The Metro Region EMS System’s responsibility and accountability for regional EMS planning is carried out through quarterly meetings of the EMS TOC and bi-monthly meetings of its subcommittees, such as the Emergency Preparedness Subcommittee and EMS Multi-agency Coordination Center coordinating group. These committees are responsible for planning and the implementation of the regional EMS programs and projects. Additionally, the EMS TOC and its subcommittees serve as a forum for the identification and prioritization of new, immediate, emerging or future EMS issues and a collaborative to design a response or action plan for the Metro Region EMS System. Ultimately, the EMS TOC recommends to the MESB actions that are needed for the coordination and improvement of emergency medical services within the metropolitan region.

The EMS TOC meets the 3rd Tuesday of the first month of each quarter (March, June, September, and December) at 12:00 p.m. All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are held in the Board Room of the Metropolitan Counties Government Center, 2099 University Avenue West, St. Paul, MN 55104.

  • The mission of the Metro Region EMS System is to:
  • Maintain the capability to coordinate and sustain regional EMS system response strategy for surge capacity by providing and supporting education, planning and exercises.
  • Maintain the Metro EMS Regional Coordination Center and ability to provide 24/7 on-call staffing for EMS multi-agency coordination (MAC), which could also provide state EMS coordination.
  • Maintain a regional deployable cache of EMS response equipment.
  • Maintain and sustain the operations and response capabilities of the Metro Region EMS mass casualty incident (MCI) bus.
  • Support and maintain the Minnesota Metropolitan Regional Trauma Advisory Committee operations.
  • Provide EMS leadership within the Metro Health & Medical Preparedness Coalition.
  • Provide education on current EMS topics or issues to EMS providers in the metro region.
  • Enhance the knowledge and/or skills of EMS providers and managers.
  • Support the Metro Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) team.

    • Offer grants to:
  • improve the coordination of emergency medical response in the nine-county metropolitan area;
  • improve resource utilization;
  • demonstrate enhanced cost-effectiveness of services;
  • evaluate medical equipment, treatments and pre-hospital interventions;
  • improve pre-hospital medical care skills of emergency medical responders in the metropolitan region;
  • evaluate trends or developments in pre-hospital care;
  • establish a basis for pre-hospital protocols or standard operating procedures; or
  • otherwise demonstrate a positive impact on regional EMS services.

2019 EMS TOC members :

Chair: Kevin Novotny, North Memorial Ambulance Service

Vice Chair: Brian Edwards, Northfield EMS

Jeff Czyson, Alllina Health EMS

Dan Disrud, Anoka County

BJ Jungmann, Burnsville Fire Department

Deb Paige, Carver County

Frank Zinken, CentraCare EMS

Rick Redenius, Cottage Grove EMS

Amalia Roberts, Dakota County

Jeff Siems, Edina Fire Department

Steve Dittbenner, Elk River

Open, Gold Cross

John Townsend, Hastings Fire & Ambulance

Tom Edminson, HealthEast Transportation

Kristin Mellstrom, Hennepin County

Ross Chavez, Hennepin EMS

Bruce Hildebrandt, Isanti County

Ben Wasmund, Lakes Region EMS




Related Resources:

2020 EMS TOC Meetings


Matt Milder, Lakeview EMS

Terry Fischer, Mahtomedi Fire Department

Mike Mondor, Maplewood Fire

Greg Hayes, Mdewakanton Fire & EMS

RJ Frascone, MD., Medical Director – East

John Hick, MD., Medical Director – West

Amber Lage, Minneapolis Fire Department

Shawn McDonough, North Memorial Ambulance Service – Forest Lake

Jeff Anderson, Oakdale Fire Department

Laura Andersen, Ramsey County

Jeff Frederick, Ridgeview Ambulance

Matt Simpson, St. Paul Fire Department

Alexa Rundquist, Scott County

Adam Boler, Sherburne

Mark Juells, South Metro Fire Department

Angela Eastman, Washington County

Open, White Bear Lake Fire

JB Guiton, Woodbury Public Safety